About FAME:

The 96th Florida Annual Meeting and Exposition (FAME) conference will host a mini-meeting Saturday September 11, 2021 at the University of Florida in the Reitz Union with Maps and Parking Information

Check-in will begin at 8 am outside of room 2355. Posters will be set up at 11:30 am in the Grand Ballroom. Oral presentations are 20 minutes long. All the media is provided so all you need a flash drive. You can bring your laptop if you desire.

The Hilton University of Florida is recommended if you would like to book a room, or, any hotels located on Archer Road are convenient with lots of nearby dining.

FAME is organized by the Florida Local Section of the American Chemical Society (FLACS), with participation from the other five Local Sections in Florida. The conference usual main conference will resume at Innisbrook Golf Resort in May of 2022.

This year’s mini meeting in September will still cover a wide range of sub-disciplines including Analytical Chemistry, Mass Spectrometry, Biochemistry and Chemical Biology, Chemical Education, Computational Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical and Biophysical Chemistry, and Polymer and Materials Chemistry.

The 2021 mini-meeting will begin in the morning of Saturday, September 11th with student talks between 6 sessions. There will be poster session during the lunch hour (lunch provided), with talks scheduled during the afternoon Saturday.

Abstracts are due August 13, 2021. Registration is due September 5, 2021. Poster presenters, please note the following: Posters should be no larger than 36” x 48”. Poster boards stands and clips will be provided to mount your poster

The meeting will follow the current UF Covid Campus Operations UF Covid. Everyone is expected to wear a mask, please be vaccinated, and please consider getting tested before the meeting.

2021 FLACS Executive Committee Officers:


Dr. Kari B. Basso
Department of Chemistry
Universtiy of Florida


Dr. Michael T. Mury
All Saints Academy

Immediate Past Chair

Dr. Alex Grenning
Department of Chemistry
University of Florida


Dr. An Le Phong
Department of Chemistry, Biochemisty, and Physics
Florida Southern University


Dr. Deborah Bromfield Lee
Department of Chemistry, biochemistry, and Physics
Florida Southern University


Dr. Carmen V. Gauthier
Department of Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Physics
Florida Southern College

Dr. Leslie Murray
Department of Chemistry
University of Florida


Dr. Amy McKenna
National High Magnetic Field Lab
Florida State University

Alternate Councilors

Dr. Beni Dangi
Florida A&M University